Tuesday, October 10, 2023



Dive deep into modern dance when the CCP Choreographers Series' NeoFilipino returns to the Tanghalang Ignacio B. Gimenez (CCP Blackbox Theater) on October 20, 21, and 22, 2023.

NeoFilipino, the third and final tier of the CCP Choreographers' Series, provides a venue for renowned artists to interact with various art forms in the creation of new works with distinct choreographic techniques. It is the final tier of the series, following WifiBody.ph and Koryolab.

The CCP Choreographers' Series, founded by Denisa Reyes and Myra Beltran, aspires to be the primary mover and shaker of contemporary dance forms in Philippine society. Launched in 2015 in collaboration with former CCP president Nestor Jardin, the series builds on NeoFilipino's efforts to break through barriers via contemporary dance since 1987, as well as the Wifi Body Festival's initiatives for independent dance since 2006.

Christine Crame, Jose Jay Cruz, and Al Garcia, who have each developed their own choreographic voice and style of dance, will be featured in NeoFilipino 2023: In Transit will feature choreographers Christine Crame, Jose Jay Cruz, and Al Garcia, who have each built a distinct choreographic voice and style of dance.


The director for the CCP Choreographer Series since 2022, Crame received her Bachelor in Performing Arts, Major in Dance at De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, and finished her master’s degree in Educational Management at the Philippine Women’s University. At Ballet Philippines, she rose the ranks from company scholar to company member/soloist from 1994-2005. Her major roles in production include: Darna, Cinderella, Snow White, Peter Pan and Darna once again for “Ding ang Bato” last 2018 at School of Design and Arts Theater. Currently a full-time faculty member of DLS-CSB, she was chair of the Academic Dance Program of the School of Design and Arts from 2010-2019. She serves as the head for many companies including: Artistic Director for Benilde Experimental Dance, Artistic Director/Performer for Seven Contemporary Dance Company, and Co-Director of Ground 1 Arts Retreat Space.

Cruz is a polyfunctional contemporary artist-educator-collaborator cruising in between fields of contemporary dance, theater, cinema, tv and recently in contemporary visual art. As a solo dancer, he has performed in several international dance festivals and was a finalist to the 2006 Yokohama SoloXDuo Dance Competition in Japan. His accolades include: the Carlos Palanca Awards for Literature, an Asian Cultural Council’s Josie Natori Awardee to study choreography and dance composition in New York, a two-time awardee of the Prince Claus Fund Grant – Contemporary Corporeality and HyperCorporeality, and a fellow to the UP Writers Workshop. His solo Contemporary Investigation Number One, created at the Bates Dance Festival, was invited to the 35th Les Hivernales/Winter Avignon, Korzo Theater artist-in-residence through the Ervaar Daar Hier Theater in the Hague. The same solo brought him to the academic field expanding the role of dance lecturing at the University of Amsterdam and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam.
Garcia, a dance artist-choreographer-educator, earned his MFA in Dance from Nanhua University in Taiwan and is currently a member of the Tjimur Dance Theatre in Taiwan. He attended Philippine High School for the Arts and UP Diliman. In 2012, he expanded and deepened his artistic voice through the CCP Choreographers Series. He represented the Philippines at the Taipei Dance Elite Academy (TAIPEIDEA 2010) and the Southeast Asia Choreolab 2015 in Malaysia. His choreography received first place in WifiBody and was showcased at the Yokohama Dance EX (Japan). His choreographies combine elements of Philippine folk dance and contemporary dance. He worked in education and community development as a member of the faculty and helped to build the dance programs in Guangzhou.
NeoFilipino 2023: In Transit is directed by dancer and choreographer Crame, with set design by Tuxqs Rutaquio, and projection mapping by Ces Valera. Its institutional supporters are De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, Guang Ming College and Myra Beltran’s DanceForum.
NeoFilipino: In Transit will run on October 20, 21, and 22, 8pm, at the Tanghalang Ignacio Gimenez, CCP Complex. Tickets (Php 500) are available at CCP Box Office and at TicketWorld (https://premier.ticketworld.com.ph/shows/show.aspx?sh=NEOFILI23). Follow us on FB: CCP Choreographers Series for more updates.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...